Professor Sandra Torres, has been elected to The Royal Society of Sciences,


Professor Sandra Torres, Department of Sociology,  has been elected to The Royal Society of Sciences,  Sweden’s oldest learned society, founded in 1710 . The Society consists of 130 Swedish and 100 foreign members, divided into four classes: Physical-Mathematical, Biology-Medicine, History-Archaeology, and Engineering-Economy (including Social Sciences).

A core part of The Royal Society of Sciences' activities today is  to award prizes to primarily young scholars, delivered once a year at a public ceremony.  Through a broad age distribution among its members, the society also forms an important bridge across generations.
More information about the Society is available in